top of page

Blogs and Updates

Social Distortion - Kalamazoo, MI - September 12th, 2014

OH. MY. GOD. Last night... Was unbelievable. I can't even describe it. I'm so exhausted... We're in the hotel at Kalamazoo right now, I'm writing this as everyone else is sleeping. So we arrived at the State Theater and we were one of the firsts in line again. We made a couple of Social D friends and one lady offered to hold our spot whenever we left. We were in the very first row, on the farther left of the stage. It was the best spot you could go! Now lets get to the good stuff. As I was waiting for the show, people were backstage on the side of the stage. I saw some man pass by and I realized I caught a glimpse of Mike Ness! But, as he was walking, he turned to face the crowd and he look directly at me for a few seconds. Not lying! I knew just then that the show was going to be breathtaking. Johnny 2 Bags played first. Boy, was he awesome! He could sing so well and the audience was totally eating it up. Surprisingly, there were no security guards up front and the crowd was tiny! The Whigs played next, and they were great, too! They're gonna make it big someday. Then, the banner dropped and the lights got bright. Social Distortion came on, except for Mike Ness! The 3 started the introduction to "Road Zombie" and in the middle of the song, Mike Ness ran in!!! EEEEKKK I SCREAMED, he was so good looking... Especially in his outfit, which was 1930s styled. My eyes widened as he reached my side of the stage. Desperately, I tried to raise my hand for him to see. My hands said, "Please let me on stage! " and "I you!" As he did his solo, he did not look at me but he remained very close. Throughout the next songs, I jumped around and tried to get him to look at me. Whenever he came to my side, he avoided eye contact with me. I wasn't sure why... But FINALLY, he reached a solo where he noticed me. Lord, I ALMOST TOUCHED HIS GUITAR HE WAS SO CLOSE. He started teasing me! As soon as I went to touch his guitar he moved it away a couple of millimeters. Then, he brought it closer and closer, then he jerked it away quickly! Hehe even better, he finally read my hand, I'll never forget what happened. He opened his eyes, read the message, blinked, and gave me the sweetest smile ever!!!! Not a smirk, but a full smile!!!!! Then he even pointed at me and Alice very quickly, and I dropped my head and began to cry. I LOVE HIM so much and now I feel even closer to him! I wanted to hug him so badly! During the next few songs, he constantly glanced at me. I was so close that I could see his own two eyes staring at mine. Everything was going so well until the violence started kicking in. Suddenly, guards appeared out of nowhere as people were moshing, staging diving, and throwing bottles on stage. The energy was CRAZY. People were getting removed from the audience like crazy. One girl tried picking a fight on someone and got moved backstage. It was wild... Then one jerk screamed, "F- YOU MIKE NESS!" Mike looked at the crowd, laughed it off, scowled, and then continued the set list. Towards the end of the concert, another jerk (or the same one) decided to throw his beer right at Mike Ness. Oh, that was IT!!! Mike Ness slowly took of his guitar, straightened his pants, cracked his knuckles, and dived into the audience!!!!! HE WAS SO CLOSE TO ME AND I GOT IT ON FILM!!! Mike pounded that guy's head like 10 times so damn hard! BAM! BAM! BAM! The guy got kicked out and the guards brought Mike back on stage again. He was so bad at that concert, I loved it!!! Way to go Mike Ness! Then the end of the concert came. Mike played the meanest version of Ring of Fire. He slammed his guitar so hard I though he was going to break it. He growled at the audience and swore like a sailor. And one point he looked at me, and I could see his mood was trying to change, but he was still very angry and didn't want to be there. After Ring of Fire, Mike ran off stage. But the drummer was there with his drumsticks he was passing out. He freakin' looked at me, chuckled, and tossed it over to me. YESSSS I GOT 2 DRUMSTICKS FROM HIM NOW!!! Then, Alice tapped my shoulder. She had found a guitar pick on the ground. I remembered Mike Ness (and ONLY Mike Ness) threw his picks at the audience... SO I GOT MIKE NESS' GUITAR PICK. OH MY GOD. Thanks Alice! Then, we stepped outside and got to watch Social Distortion put their equipment away in a truck. I saw all the amps up close and personal. Totally something nice to see! And then... We found the bus Mike Ness was on. Windows were tinted so we couldn't see, but I knew he was in there because guards said we had to back off from the entrance of the door. I also saw some band members go inside. I got everything on film! Everything! I will post them as soon as I can! I really love Mike Ness though... He was amazing at that concert and I'll never forget that sweet smile he gave me or the 10,000 times he looked at me. I still wanna hive him a hug and thank him SO BADLY for the joy he brought me both times when I saw him. Social Distortion is getting better and better with age. There we no other kids in the audience except for me and Alice, and I honestly believe that if the audience wasn't such a jerk to him, he would have let me on stage. I'll always love you, Mike Ness! Thank you! Mike Ness' bus driver was staying at our hotel, the Comfort Inn. Rumors had it that Mike Ness was staying at the Raddisson. Hope so!

bottom of page