top of page

Blogs and Updates

Bob Seger - Saginaw, MI - November 19th, 2014

We arrived so late we missed the opening act, but we didn't miss Mr. Bob Seger! First thing I did was buy a Bob Seger "Ride Out" T-Shirt in honor of this awesome man. Then we ran into the venue and got into our seats. It was intermission time, and Bob was to come out soon. When the lights went low, everybody stood up, and The Silver Bullet Band came our way. Out on our right came the beautiful Bob Seger, in jeans and black black t-shirt; which basically everybody else in the audience was wearing also LOL I was so short I didn't even see him enter until I saw between two people a man that looked very similar to Santa Claus. I looked closer. IT WAS BOB SEGER! Jumping up and down, I screamed his name as he started the intro to Roll Me Away. I started slam dancing worse than a punk rock concert. I was the only person dancing so oddly in the concert; yet again I was like the youngest person there! Then they tackled Tryin' To Live My Life Without You, and then flew right into The Fire Down Below! I screamed as he made his way to my side! I jumped up on my chair and he stood directly in front of me! I looked dead into his face and his gaze met mine. He was singing right at me. Then I got the message. We had the fire down below tonight LOL He devoured the song Devil's Right Hand which was a new song from "Ride Out". I knew all the lyrics of course, as I sang right in with him! After that song, he grabbed a chair and started sitting for the song Mainstreet. When I saw this, I got a little sad. He was on the 5th song and he already had to sit down. I realized the man didn't have as much stamina and power as he used to, and that would mean the end would be near. The end for Bob Seger and The Silver Bullet Band as we know it. But y'know, it was a pleasure just to be there, and see him before that happened. And I am lucky just to say that! After my hopes were a little down, I saw Bob stand right up again and merge right into "Old Time Rock and Roll"! Well, that was it! I started right back up again and dancin'! I screamed so loud I hurt my own ears. The beat to that song was so hard not to dance to he had everybody; even the security dancing! It was just so marvelous! I could see Bob dancing really good to! He actually did a little jumping and kicking on stage; not bad for a 69 year old! Maybe Mainstreet was just his warm up song. Then he continued with more new songs like The Fireman's Talkin' and California Stars, which were both excellent live! Bob introduced his new fiddle player into the Silver Bullet Band as well. She played on The Fireman's Talkin'! She was very good! Bob even did some good classic such as Come To Poppa and Her Strut! Everybody was so excited! He really knew how to keep the audience begging for more. And then, my moment came. He was in the middle of Like A Rock, a song I prayed and wished would be MY song. I was exhausted and out of breath from dancing so hard earlier, but I managed to stand on top of my chair and stood taller than any person in the venue. I closed my eyes and sang the lyrics as I felt my heart thump to the beat. Then, I felt the heat and brightens of a light on me. I opened my eyes only to find a giant green light fixed right on ME! I jumped up and down on my chair, still taller than everybody else. As I waved my arms in the air, I digested the lyrics: "Like A Rock! Standing arrow straight; Like A Rock!" It was as if the song was written for me!!! I stood there above everyone else so proudly; with the light on me for minutes and minutes. And just when the song seemed to be closing, Bob took one deep look at me and smiled so brightly I lost my balance and nearly fell! Oh how I got to witness his sweet smile in real life and it was JUST FOR ME!!! I just can't believe how bold and strong felt at that moment. Jeeze he may be an old man, and I may only be 15, but I would kiss that man in a hot second, especially after tonight! After my moment passed, Bob went right down into Travelin' Man, which merged into Beautiful Loser! They were excellent song choices for featuring his Silver Bullet Band! They are very big and impressive! But you still feel very close and personal with them unlike many other large bands. That why Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band rocks! Later, he covered even more new songs off his "Ride Out" album, including Gates of Eden and Hey Gypsy. I wasn't too much of a fan of the songs on the studio version, but live proved me wrong. He was very superb and sang the songs without a struggle. The audio was clear and the beat was mighty fine. I was impressed over and over again! Then, Bob started speaking. He started discussing how the 225 was built in Flint instead of Detroit, and he apologized to all of his fans. But he said he really loved the song and he hoped we would have gotten the message. I sure did! The next thing you know, he was playing Detroit Made. Suddenly, during the song, he got down on the left hand side of the stage where I was. I freaked out and ran down the isle to the stage. Ain't to security could stop me. (I was runnin' against the wind LOL) I ran so fast I almost tripped into a puddle of beer. But I kept running against that wind until I met the stage. I look up, and about 2 feet away from me was Mr. Bob Seger himself. I started crying and the security was laughing at me. The lights were on me again. There whole area me and Bob were is was lit up. I was shouting his name and reaching out for him but he didn't seem to notice! Then the security said I had to go back to my seat... but I am so happy I managed to be SO CLOSE to him! I could see his eyes so perfectly! And all that sweat; how you you not love that!? I would have passed out if he touched my hand or looked at me or ANYTHING! Anyways, the concert continued and Bob walked on over to the piano to play We've Got Tonight and Turn The Page. Now I couldn't see him in real life because the security told me not to stand on my chair and Bob was too far away for me too see. But I got some videos and I thoroughly enjoyed the songs! He played the piano so beautifully: he really is a talented man! But I was resting during these songs, because I knew something upbeat would come up next. Sure enough, he started rocking out to Katmandu! I jumped and screamed so hard I though I was going to die. My back was killing me and my arms were aching, but I kept pumping my fists into the air. If this was the only time I was going to see him, I was going to make it last! Then, the band began to leave the stage. It was over all too soon. He just left as quick as a blink. Everybody started to cry and wail, and people started stomping their feet. Just when we began to lose some hope, Bob entered again with his Silver Bullet Band and started two encores: Against The Wind and Holly Wood Nights! I was so thrilled he came back: he totally won my heart! I wanted to cry when he left the stage again, but it was as if he was listening to me. Out he came again, and did two more songs for his second encore; Night Moves and Rock And Roll Never Forgets! Was a great man he is; so many encores and great songs! When the concert was over, I tried searching for somebody who would help me get backstage passes, but I didn't see him. Even though I didn't go backstage, I still had a ball! It was surely a night I could never forget! I am truly in love now; when I die I will make sure a Bob Seger song is the first to play at my funeral.

bottom of page