top of page

Blogs and Updates

Bob Seger - Auburn Hills, MI - March 26th, 2015

The whole day, I was TENSE. I had to go to school before the concert. Can you believe I had to go through such hell? Haha... but I made it through! On the way to the concert I had Bob Seger CDs blasting through the car speakers as loud as they could go. I saw one guy walking down the street and I shouted, "I BET YOU'RE JEALOUS!" With my Bob Seger hat in one hand and the Bob Seger songs blaring in the background. I know he was jealous. Anyone would be jealous of the kind of night I had. In fact, I'm jealous of myself, if that's even possible! :D We went to the pre-party first. I walked in, nervous as ever. There was somebody that my mom and I got into a HUGE conflict with, and he said he was going to be there. I was so nervous to see him, you wouldn't believe it... I felt like I was being hunted. He told me and my mom that I would NEVER go to the after-party and that I didn't deserve it. Boy was he wrong! Minutes after I entered the building, I heard the same things over and over, "Hi, are you Brianna!?" "Hello Brianna, I'm _____" And "Brianna I've been seeing your posts on Facebook!" I swear I felt like I was the famous one! :D It was incredible!!!! I loved meeting and chatting with all my Seger friends! Each and every one of you were AWESOME people! It was the greatest thing hearing Karen's story, too! I could feel her excitement as she told the story! (I met Daniel too!) A little while later, I met a kind lady who had talked to Bob Seger early that day, and had a VERY special and amazing surprise for me. I was NEVER expecting this... a poster signed TODAY by THE BOB SEGER HIMSELF! I can't believe I didn't scream in the restaurant!!! I was too dehydrated to cry, so I just said thank you a million times and ran back to my mom and collapsed in her lap, barely able to hold the poster. Folks all around were staring at me but I didn't care at all! My mom was like, "What does it say!?" And I was like, "Um I don't know I can't stop shaking for the love of god to read it!!!" Everyone started cracking up. I managed to slow down my shaking and I smiled with excitement as I read it: "To Brianna All my best Bob Seger 3/15" I was so scared that I was gonna pass out after that but I didn't... :) After that little episode, my mom got her food and I ordered her to pound it down so we could get to the concert (lol). I was shaking so bad still, it didn't matter if I was walking, sitting in the car, or talking to a friend. The whole night consisted of me shaking. When we got to the venue and in our seats, I couldn't relax at all!!! The opening act, Whitey Morgan and the 78s were really good, though I only made it to hear their last song. I wish I would have gotten there a little earlier because they were really a nice opening act for Bob Seger. I was very pleased! During intermission time, my mom left to go find my dad and my grandma. They were also at the concert, but on the other side. She also left to have a cigarette break and go to the bathroom. So I was stuck in my seat alone... it was okay at first until these two drunks found their seat next to me and one of them was practically leaning on me... I was thinking, "Woah man easy on the drinks now, Bob hasn't even come on yet!" LOL In the meantime, I obtained a backstage pass from someone, which made me almost ball my eyes out. Now I just needed the last one for my mom! The lights went dark. The audience grew silent. The hearts were pumping. This was it. Out came Don Brewer, Rob McNelley, Craig Frost, Jim Moose Brown, Chris Campbell, Laura Creamer, Shaun Murphy, Barbara Payton, the Motor City Horns, Alto Reed, dammit you know all the rest... there's too many to keep track of! ;) Bottom line is, THEY WERE HERE! And when Mr. Bob Seger hit the stage, it was as if a hurricane took over The Palace... I never heard an audience that loud! You could hear those screams miles away! You could FEEL the tension like thunder roaring through you body... you could hardly hear your ears ringing; the shrieking and howling was about break all the glass in the venue. The pressure of the screaming and tension was almost as bad as our hearts pumping a mile a minute, giving all of us fans the best adrenaline rush of our lives. It was official. We were all "Bob Seger High"! I immediately stood on top of my chair. I was way too short to see anybody, so standing was my only option. My mom was not back yet, but it didn't matter at the moment. I was all over that man named Bob Seger on stage... who was wearing a plain old black t-shirt and jeans but STILL looked soooooooo handsome, teehee ;) When his voice bellowed through the microphone to sing "Roll Me Away", I almost fell into a poor old lady in front of me... LOL I was standing on my chair and his voice was so-near perfect that I had a scary adrenaline rush! My knees were about to give out or something; I could hardly stand on my chair and I nearly fell into the seats in front of me. I wasn't sure why I couldn't control myself... then I realized it. I wasn't dancing. I wasn't jamming out. I needed to get my energy out of my body. So I started JUMPING on the chairs LOL And and the drunk guys next to me were looking at me like I was their friend and they started joining me (LOL!) I was SO impressed with Bob Seger's voice. People have complained before, saying that he lost his "high notes". Well, EVERYBODY ages! I have noticed that Bob Seger changed the pitch in most of his songs to a deeper key. What's so bad about that? Some people act like it's illegal or something... lol, it's not, it just shows how Bob has changed over the years and still stands the test of time. It's incredible. Nobody has the same voice when their 30 as they do at 70. Nobody. Those people don't understand the true legacy Bob Seger has left behind. I'd like to see those people sell out arenas at nearly 70 years old. I bet they can't! Back to the show... "Tryin' To Live My Life Without You" was next, and it made my heart all warm and fuzzy on the inside when he gave a shout out to his home! He makes me so unbelievably proud of my home state and I love him so much for that. Michigan is the place to be that night, as he had ROCKED The Palace of Auburn Hills like no other musician! Honestly, I'm not saying that just because I love him, but I believe that most musicians out there could never hold up a legacy quite like Bob Seger's. Honestly, I don't remember much of the setlist because I was so out of it from last night, but I do remember the new songs of his new album "Ride Out" that he played. "It's Your World" - which featured Bob Seger on a beautiful electric guitar, "The Fireman's Talkin" - Which is one of my favorites on the album and a great tribute to his brother-in-law who is a firefighter, "All Of The Roads" - My personal favorite which is a sweet tribute to his fans, "Hey Gypsy" - A catchy tribute to Stevie Ray Vaughan, and "Detroit Made" - Which is pretty much self-explanatory. Unfortunately, I have a complaint about the audience. I hate to be the one saying this, since something like this is so unacceptable... but when Bob Seger began playing his new songs like "The Fireman's Talkin'" I literally watched OVER HALF the audience sit down. I literally wanted to scream at all of them but I was so shocked that they would do such a disrespectful thing that I couldn't. Don't you DARE give me the excuse that the audience is old and they can't stand anymore... because I watched them deliberately sit down during these new songs and stand back up for the classics. I'm sorry, but Bob Seger and The Silver Bullet Band is MAY MORE than "Turn The Page" and "Night Moves", okay? Don't get me wrong, I love their classics but it hurt me so much to see all those people sit down. Some weren't even smiling. I was one of the only people standing up, recording it all and singing the lyrics to every new song... it felt SO BAD for Bob Seger and his band... I sure hope they didn't see how many people sat down during those songs... it broke my heart. This is supposed to be DETROIT... his home town... the place that he got his fame started at... and most of the audience members that I have seen didn't seem to care anymore. How DARE they attend a Bob Seger concert (or any concert for that matter) and do such a thing!? Especially after the fact that Bob Seger spent time saying that he wrote "The Fireman's Talkin'" for his brother-in-law and yet they sat down and paid no respect to the man. Oh my gosh, am I FREAKIN' MAD about that. Another thing to... I understand that not everyone has the same political views as "Bob Seger", and some may not agree with songs like "It's Your World"... I'm fine with that. What I'm NOT fine with is the fact that they still sat down. Regardless whether you agree with the songs or not, Bob Seger is a talented man, and so his his band. They are all really sweet and nice people... and it's unbelievable that they've all lasted so long in the music industry... that 50 YEARS Bob Seger has been doing this. ANY YOU'RE GOING TO SIT DOWN? All because you don't have the same views as him? Unbelievable. That's practically a disgrace to me. But still, the loyal fans like me who do care stood up the whole concert, no matter our ages and we LOVED ALL their songs. New and old, it didn't matter. We were here to see Bob Seger and The Silver Bullet Band, and we're gonna make it last! And that's what matters most. Who cares if he lost a couple of fans... he's doing what he loves and that's what we came to see. I love you forever Bob, keep it up! ♥ The end of the show came too soon. The encores were crazy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Haha... During some of the songs, I had several moments I'll NEVER forget. Bob came over to my side a few times and noticed me and pointed at me about 3 TIMES during the concert!!!!! There were millions of hearts in my eyes! In fact I think my actual heart was gonna give out! LOL The more he looked at me, the more I just wanted to faint right there!!! At one pointed I started to giggle uncontrollably because he gave me his huge, sweet smile just for me and me only, I and just couldn't contain my excitement! How can ANY girl NOT squeal when Bob Seger gives a warm laugh just for them? AND points at them? Just priceless. And fact that he gave his autograph just for ME will officially keep my love for him never-ending. I still feel as if I never thanked that lady enough for the nice things she's done for me :) By the time "Rock and Roll Never Forgets" played, I was getting anxious and sad. Sad because the show was about to end, but anxious because I knew what was about to happen next. After-show passes. I got my second pass for my mom after the show and it was time to head to the after-party. And that man who told me I would NEVER go to the after-party what just a bunch of bull. Look at me now, I have passes with my mom and all my other great Bob Seger friends to see the band!!! Goes to show how much he knows, eh? I bought a Bob Seger "Night Moves" concert T-shirt before we went to the after-party. Another great souvenir grin emoticon I will be wearing that shirt proudly on Monday heart emoticon We went downstairs and headed to the "spot". It was so nervous you wouldn't even believe it. Of course I was shaking. When have I stopped? LOL As soon as I walked in I saw Don Brewer. My eyes got big. WHAT DO I SAY? HOW DO I APPROACH HIM? WHEN DO I APPROACH HIM? WILL HE LIKE ME? WHAT IF I FORGET HIS NAME WHILE I'M UP THERE BECAUSE I'M IN SUCH A SHOCK? All the questions I thought of consumed my brain. We decided to walk around a little bit and relax before I approached anybody. We found a seat and sat down. I but that didn't last for long. Jim "Moose" Brown was like a foot away from me. And how do you expect me to sit down? LOL With the help of my mom and a friend they got me up and I slowly approached him. I couldn't stop freaking out it was killing me hehehe. I had a black Silver Bullet Band hat from a good friend, Chuck Le Vack, and a silver sharpie for them to sign it with. This was it. I told him how much I LOVED him and Bob and the whole Silver Bullet Band, and then he asked me, "But did you enjoy the show?" And I was like, "Oh man, I was jumpin' all up and down in my seat!" They laughed and my mom told me to calm down. So he proceeded to say, "I remember how I used to have that much energy!" And I had to laugh! Then I got him to sign my hat and I took a picture right next to him grin emoticon Oh my gosh it was great even though the picture turned out really dark I got a video of me meeting him!!! I'll upload it sometime don't worry! Then I looked over and I saw Don Brewer again. We were going to approach him but I stopped because Barbara Payton was right in front of me. Woah can I just say AWESOME!? Once again, with the help of my mom and a friend, I was able to approach her and not have a heart attack LOL. I also told her how much I LOVED the show and how great she was and all that great stuff and she asked me for my name and I said, "Brianna"... and she said she knew ALL ABOUT ME from Facebook and I just wanted to die right there. It was freaking WONDERFUL. I just got recognized for being a fan!!! That's EPIC. So I immediately started panicking and my mom told me to calm down again but Barbara said, "She doesn't have to calm down one bit" and she signed my hat and took a picture with me! Oh yeah!!!!! Soon after, the same ritual happened. I saw Shaun Murphy and practically had a stroke, and everyone helped me approach her. While shaking and hardly able to breathe, I managed to say how FANTASTIC the concert was and how much Bob Seger was a legend! So she asked me, "Are you Brianna?" and I was like, "YES." And her eyes got really BIG and she gave me a huge hug and she told me how she knew all about me also!!!!!! Oh boy her reaction was great. But so was mine, I could hardly contain myself as I took a picture with her! And when she signed my hat I was just like "BINGO" I am hittin' the jackpot over here LOL smile emoticon We sat around for a minute and then I found Laura Creamer hanging around, so we followed the same ritual after I had a heart attack and went up to her. (I don't know how I didn't pass out or die honestly... Ha!) After telling her how great she was and and the band, she signed my hat and I got all excited and I took a great photo with her! It was pretty brief, I suppose she was going to talk to somebody else, which is understandable in a crazy environment like that. But I wasn't finished meeting everyone!!! My mom left to smoke a cigarette so a friend helped lead me around and meet all the other members. We found Craig Frost next. I was like, "WOAH". As usual, in a state of shock. upset emoticon When I approached him I had to fangirl. That's what I do as a huge Bob Seger fan! He smiled, and when I asked him to sign my hat, he told me to hold his drink for him while he signed it, so of course I did! grin emoticon I was just so happy he signed it and all! When he handed back the hat it was so awkward because both of our hands were full and we had to struggle to make room to hold it all, but it was pretty funny! And then, as my friend went to take a picture of us, he started pinching my cheeks! HA!!!! He must have thought I was cute because he said, "I don't know why I can't stop pinching your cheeks!" And I said, "Well whatever works for you" And they started cracking up LOL!!!!! Then I continued to say, "I guess they all love me!" And I took a great photo of him pinching my cheeks Hehehehe!!!!!! So funny that was a great time! Last but not least I saw Alto Reed and his wife! There were tons of people by him so it had to be very quick. I shook his wife's hand and she said it was nice to meet me, and when I approached Alto I had to go fast. I showed him this fan art that I made for Bob and asked him if he could give it to him, but he said "It will never happen. It would get lost, honestly." Which I don't blame him, after meeting all those people it would be sure to get ripped or lost along the way. It was worth a try, though. He told me to mail it, so that's what I'm gonna do. I got his autograph and my mom took a few pictures, and that was it! I never ended up meeting Don Brewer because he left too quickly, but it was overall a successful night! I got 6 autographs- 7 if you count Bob Seger, and that is just magnificent! upset emoticon LOL After we met everybody, I talked to my friend Karen about various different things and she took some photos of me my my signed hat! She also proceeded to tell us that there was a tile signed by Bob Seger out in the lobby and some random stranger decided to take a picture of it with her... LOL Weird, I must say. So w headed out to find that tile. In the meantime, we took a couple of pictures of the stage being cleared out. Awesome pictures, really cool. I got to see backstage where Bob went after the show. There's a pictures of it, I'll show you soon. It was so darn awesome! We found the tile a took a picture of it, and that picture is coming soon. (ALL pictures AND videos will be coming soon, but I just need more time.) We went back outside and noticed it was snowing. Me and my mom cracked up. You wouldn't believe what Bob Seger said at the concert during "Night Moves". He said, "Summer's comin' Michigan!" And the audience screamed!!! And then we go outside and it's snowing. Um no Bob, don't lie to us like that LOL wink emoticon But he IS right though. Summer IS coming, and I don't know about you but I'm excited. Excited for the fact that he MIGHT do SUMMER SHOWS... can you believe how excited I would be!? I hope it all works out because I would do ANYTHING for another night like this one! ♥

bottom of page