top of page

Blogs and Updates

Money In Hands Means Concert Plans

I think the title of this blog speaks for itself. If you're a concert junkie like me, you know how boring and nearly painful life is when you're not at a concert. Concerts are like drugs- you think you need them to survive and when you attend them, it makes you enter a special kind of high that only a concert can create. Especially a concert to your favorite artist(s)! Something magical happened to me last week- and honestly it was more than magical, it's something I cannot explain for the life of me. This is a mini story of true kindness in the hands of near-strangers. In this world today, there are so many shootings, death stories, and losses. The world we live in is so cruel at times and it almost seems as if we can't trust our own best friends from time to time. But this story, I guarantee, will restore your faith in humanity.

 

Back in April, I had just got done going to a concert to see John Mellencamp, my favorite performer/songwriter. A friend whom I met on the Internet had decided to drive all the way from Tennessee to Michigan to meet me for the first time and attend this concert with me. Needless to say, we had a spectacular time in the front row and the show was one of the best shows that I've attended. A couple of weeks after that, Mellencamp announced that he was continuing his tour this October. Being the crazily obsessed fan that I am, I immediately began chatting with my Internet friend and we arranged plans to see him again.The show was in Toledo (the closest place I could find to Detroit since he was not playing in Michigan again) at the Stranahan Theater on October 21st, 2016. Now I'm a 17 year old girl, I admit that I didn't think too much of the money and ticket/travel expenses at first. I just made plans and when with them. Well, eventually I had to tell my mom the plans I made. I told her in mid-May that I wanted to go see Mellencamp again. Reluctantly, she agreed, but she said it would be very, very hard to get money and she just wasn't sure if she could do it. With my 17th birthday being June 29th, she said that these concert tickets would have to be my present, that is, IF she could scrape up all the money to go. The big issue was that Mellencamp's tickets can range from $150-$250, which is damn expensive, and we only settle for the best seats (near the front row), and we need two of them! Plus we need to get a third seat so my Internet friend could sit with us. Also, my mom is not superwoman, and she gets exhausted after the shows, so we needed to book a hotel for the night, too. All these concert tickets, hotel money, and travel expenses add up big time! At first I wasn't really concerned. I thought I had time, and I figured I'd get some money for my birthday and I'd use it for the concert tickets. Then I was sure I'd be able to go. But then, something else happened that built the pressure up to extremes. Another artist that I really wanted to see, Elton John, I learned was touring around the same time as well. When I looked up his tour dates in early June, the closest place I found was also in Toledo at the Huntington Center on September 28th, 2016. At first I jumped with pure joy, because I had never seen him before and I wanted to go so badly. But my happiness quickly melted into heartache.

I had already made plans to see John Mellencamp, and I couldn't cancel those on my friend. Not to mention, Mellencamp IS my favorite performer. The idea of me missing him was NOT going to be a reality. And even these plans to see Mellencamp were uncertain. That being said, going to another concert was not going to happen. In fact, when I looked at Elton's ticket prices, the CHEAPEST seat, which was in the far back, was about $150. That is outrageous! And I'd need two tickets so my mom could go, which means I'd need at least $300!! Plus more money to see John Mellencamp? No way on this planet did I think I could go. No way- in fact I didn't even bother telling my mom that I wanted to go because I knew the answer would be no.

So I was sinking into a bit of a panic and depression. But then, it gets worse... I also found out that Elton John was winding down his touring soon because he wanted to spend time with his kids (understandable!) I heard that he may not be touring around the Midwest anymore, and that if he ever did, the prices would racket up so high, they'd probably be $500 per ticket. Therefore, this would be my first, last, and ONLY chance to see him. It was either now or never. I was so worried that I began wondering if I should cancel the John Mellencamp show to see Elton instead because I've already seen Mellencamp live twice before. But I just couldn't say no to Mellencamp, my favorite songwriter. I love him too much. And I wasn't going to let down my Internet friend. In late June, I was so desperate that I tried to sell commissions. I am 17, I never had a job before (I have done volunteer work though). I haven't had one because I refuse to work with food and I don't know any other jobs in my area who are hiring. Also, I can't drive yet, and I would need someone to drive be back and forth to work which nobody agreed to do. Taking a bus sorta scared me (I hate buses) so this just left me with no job. I admit I'm stubborn! But I am an artist, and I love to draw, so I figured I could go on DeviantART or something and start doing commissions. Well, that idea proved much harder than I thought and failed. It was so difficult trying to get my art recognized, and even harder trying to find people who where actually interested in it. And the worst thing about it all was that I wasn't even motivated myself to draw for other people, so within two weeks that idea went down the drain.

But two weeks later was also, finally, when the miracles began to happen. July 2nd was my birthday party, and my friends and family have given me about $220 total in birthday cash. You bet that sent me flying through the roof with excitement! Finally, just finally, I definitely had enough money to see John Mellencamp live, and together me and my mom would help find the best seats. Then I could go with my Internet friend, too!

Later that night I just thought about how lucky I was. How spoiled, how special, and how great I was feeling. I mean I didn't know what I did to deserve all that money. They didn't even know I wanted to go to these concerts. They were just generous enough to give me a few bucks (that's hardly a few!) But yet I was still feeling down. I knew I was not going to be seeing Elton John, and that sent a few tears rolling down my cheeks. I wanted to stop crying- I told myself that I was lucky just to be able to go to one of these concerts. But how could you say no to the legendary Elton John? The same man who wrote Bennie and The Jets, Crocodile Rock, Your Song, Honky Cat, Bitch Is Back, I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues, Rocket Man, Candle In The Wind, Don't Go Breaking My Heart, etc.!? I would be devastated to know that he was coming near me and I missed my one and only chance to see him- it would haunt me forever. 3 days later, I was chatting to random folks in an Elton John group on Facebook when one of them suggested I do the unthinkable- start a GoFundMe. I nearly spit out my drink- a GoFundMe for a freakin' CONCERT? "Nobody in the would would donate for me", I thought. I was having a hard time getting my commissions out there- it would be even HARDER geyting a random GoFundMe like this out there! In addition, GoFundMe campaigns were usually for a cause or for something serious like medical bills. To have a GoFundMe up just so I could go to this concert sounded like a joke! But I learned never to underestimate anything. Most importantly, I learned about the true goodness in people's hearts. I decided to go forth and create the GoFundMe anyways because I was so desperate. I explained the truth- how I was just a 17 year old girl and I didn't have enough money to see him live and I just wanted my dream to come true. It was really nothing special in my opinion, but apparently it was to a couple of strangers. Within hours of creating it, acquaintances- people I barely just met- started donating $30, then $50, until I woke up two days later and literally reached the goal I had set for $300. I'm pretty sure I shit my pants after reading that. That just doesn't happen to everyone on a daily basis. I mean these people I have NEVER met before, and I barely knew a thing about them, and yet I was able to reach my goal. One wonderful, amazing lady donated $250 to me- which is what set me skyrocketing with joy like a rocket man!! I sent out mass thank yous to everybody who donated, as well as a personal video in which I thanked them; I wanted them to see my face and my joy- something you can't quite feel with words. I told them that I wish I knew how to repay them back, and they simply said that my joy and happiness was more than enough in their eyes.

 

This is a story of true happiness and joy- real proof that the people around you may not be such demons at all. Not to mention, this is also proof that music has so much power. It connects people- it makes friends- it connects the world. Just think- when you're at a concert, thousands of people came and spent their money and their time to see the same musician you love- to feel the same passion and experience the same excitement. Concerts are gatherings of love and compassion, and the best ways to meet new friends from my experience. I now have faith in this world and I am not so afraid of what is out there- this experience of gratefulness, thankfulness, love, and devotion is an overwhelming bucket of emotions that I can't and don't want to get out of! So now I am going to both these John Mellencamp and Elton John concerts, and it's all thanks because of the help and love from other people. Friends, family, acquaintances, strangers.. it doesn't matter. Their vision is the same: to help out a younger girl and make her silly little dreams come true. I mean, if somebody is willing to help out a freak like me, you should have faith in the world too. I could not recommend GoFundMe anymore- of you are struggling with money for a real reason, so much so that your life is on edge, do it. Start a GoFundMe. If you beautiful dog needs surgery or she will be facing death (I know the pain), do it. Start a GoFundMe. You'd be so damn suprised and shocked with just how many people care.

This world is really not such a cold place after all. Share the love, be kind to people, and most importantly, keep rockin' on. Thank you.

Check out my GoFundMe here (it will be taken down in September of 2016).You can always donate even though the goal has been reached: https://www.gofundme.com/eltonjohndream

bottom of page